Ohio.gov  |   State Agencies   |   Online Services
You are here : About  >  Commission Information
Commission Information

Gavel with Flag

Ohio Revised Code (ORC) Sections 123.20-123.281 and Chapter 3318 and Chapter 153 of the Ohio Revised Code (ORC) set forth the provisions of law governing the Commission and the programs administered by the Commission, including oversight of construction and procurement under Chapter 153.

The Commission consists of seven members, three of whom serve as voting members. Those members are the Director of the Office of Budget and Management, the Director of Department of Administrative Services, and an additional administrative department head appointed by the Governor or their designee.

There are also four non-voting members, two appointed by the President of the Senate and two appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives. Non-voting members serve for the legislative biennium in which they are appointed.


Members are notified of the meetings in advance and are given an agenda, the meeting location, and other relevant information. At each meeting, Commission staff present items for Commission approval. Commission members have the opportunity to ask questions of staff members regarding specific projects or other agenda matters. All meetings are open to the public and subject to the Open Meeting Law.

Meeting Schedule and Minutes

The Commission meets quarterly at the Ohio Statehouse, typically in House Hearing Room 121. A member of the Commission staff serves as the secretary. The secretary keeps minutes of each meeting reflecting all official actions taken. At each meeting, the Commission approves the minutes taken at the previous meeting.

Public Testimony

Anyone requesting to present testimony is required to submit a Testimony Request Slip provided by the Commission. The Commission’s secretary requests 10 copies of any written material to distribute. No person is permitted to testify unless acknowledged by the Commission Chair.

Voting - Resolutions

Commission meetings are governed by parliamentary rules as set forth in Robert’s Rules of Order. Two voting Members constitute a quorum. An affirmative vote of two members is necessary for approval of any action taken by the Commission.

When a vote of the Commission is required, a written resolution is presented to Commission Members. Typically, Commission staff members present each resolution and provide background on the action item.  Commission Members then have the opportunity to discuss and ask questions. Following a motion, a roll call vote is taken from the voting members. Resolutions are typically either approved, disapproved, or tabled for a later meeting.

Commission Members

Voting Members:
Timothy S. Keen, Chairman, Director of the Office of Budget and Management
Robert Blair, Vice Chairman, Director of the Department of Administrative Services
Gary C. Mohr, Appointed by the Governor, Department of Rehabilitation and Correction

Non-Voting Members:
Senator Sean O'Brien (D), 32nd District
Senator Gayle Manning (R), 13th District
Representative Steven Hambley (R), House District 69
Representative Glenn Holmes (D), House District 63
Commission Meeting Schedule and Minutes