For Immediate Release
May 21, 2009

Commission announces Dream School 2009 winners

May 21, 2009 (COLUMBUS) The Ohio School Facilities Commission (OSFC) announced the winners today for its fifth annual student competition, Dream School 2009. OSFC sponsors this competition annually in conjunction with the Council of Educational Facility Planners, International (CEFPI) Foundation’s School Building Week.

This year’s contest invited students to submit audio or video podcasts that focus on the importance of well-planned, high performance, healthy, safe and sustainable schools that foster student achievement. Students attending schools that have been offered OSFC funding beginning July 2007 and have had their building projects approved by the Commission and obtained their local share were eligible to participate.

This year’s winners included:

Division 1: Grades K-2

  1. Marcus Koons, Beech Grove ES, Tuslaw Local
  2. Jake Loar, Beech Grove ES, Tuslaw Local
  3. Cole Freidly, Beech Grove ES, Tuslaw Local                

Division 2: Grades 3-5

  1. Gretchen Lee, Pettisville ES, Pettisville Local

Division 3: Grades 4-6

  1. Shelby Miller, Pettisville HS, Pettisville Local
  2. Clara Beck, Pettisville HS, Pettisville Local
  3. Jasmine Carpenter, Mikovich MS, Maple Heights City

Division 4: Grades 9-12

  1. Lincoln Frey, Pettisville HS, Pettisville Local
  2. Mitch Hukill, Indian Creek HS, Indian Creek Local
  3. Zach Waidelich, Pettisville HS, Pettisville Local

The winners were recognized at the Commission’s May 21st meeting. Joining OSFC as partners in this year’s competition were CEFPI – Ohio Chapter, the Ohio School Boards Association, American Institute of Architects – Ohio, eTech Ohio, College Advantage, Columbus Green Building Forum, and the Construction Managers Association of America – Ohio.

Dream School Winners

About OFCC

Established in 1997, the Commission is responsible for administration of the state’s school construction and renovation program. The Commission is currently working with, or has completed all necessary work in, nearly two-thirds of the state’s 613 school districts.

On September 10, 2012, the Commission was consolidated with the Office of the State Architect to form the Ohio Facilities Construction Commission. The Ohio School Facilities Commission continues to exist as a separate commission within the new agency, focusing on funding Ohio’s comprehensive K-12 school construction program.


Media contact: Rick Savors at 614.466.7746 or