For Immediate Release
November 4, 2009

12 districts win voter approval of projects

November 4, 2009 (COLUMBUS) Twelve (12) school districts across Ohio will be moving forward with school building construction and renovation projects following the General Election yesterday.

The 12 districts were successful in passing local levies that will be used for paying the district’s portion of the cost of anticipated work from an Ohio School Facilities Commission project. Under Ohio law, districts must raise their portion of the funds before state funds can be released for the project. OSFC Executive Director Richard C. Murray called the results “a major step forward for these districts and a strong indication of the support local communities have for education, even during difficult economic times.”

Of the 12, eight will be funded through the Commission’s Classroom Facilities Assistance program (CFAP), three through the Vocational Facilities Assistance program (VFAP), and one from the Exceptional Needs program (ENP). The 12 districts have combined anticipated project budgets of over $528 million dollars. The projects are estimated to support approximately 2,000 job opportunities for each of the next two years.

Districts with Funding Levies Approved on November 3, 2009

School District    County   Project Budget   Program
Cedar Cliff Local SD   Greene   $21,732,871   CFAP
Xenia Community City SD   Greene   $125,408,386   CFAP
Findlay City SD   Hancock   $57,532,766   ENP
Vantage Career Center JVSD   Van Wert   $22,755,728   VFAP
Bellefontaine City SD   Logan   $35,003,787   CFAP
Bellevue City SD   Sandusky   $56,353,704   CFAP
Cory-Rawson Local SD   Hancock   $13,099,709   CFAP
Elgin Local SD   Marion   $35,899,887   CFAP
Northwestern Local SD   Clark   $51,345,655   CFAP
Van Wert City SD   Van Wert   $53,095,390   CFAP
Ashtabula County JVSD   Ashtabula   $33,449,983   VFAP
Upper Valley JVSD   Miami   $23,236,348   VFAP


About OFCC

Established in 1997, the Commission is responsible for administration of the state’s school construction and renovation program. The Commission is currently working with, or has completed all necessary work in, nearly two-thirds of the state’s 613 school districts.

On September 10, 2012, the Commission was consolidated with the Office of the State Architect to form the Ohio Facilities Construction Commission. The Ohio School Facilities Commission continues to exist as a separate commission within the new agency, focusing on funding Ohio’s comprehensive K-12 school construction program.


Media contact: Rick Savors at 614.466.7746 or