For Immediate Release
April 29, 2011

Districts receive approval for Energy Conservation Program

April 29, 2011 (COLUMBUS) Three Ohio school districts have been given approval for participation in a program designed to produce significant energy conservation savings.

The Ohio School Facilities Commission (OSFC) gave its approval at its April 28, 2010 meeting to projects in the Bethel Local (Miami County), Covington Exempted Village (Miami County), and Van Wert City (Van Wert County) school districts. The projects will be completed under the Commission’s Energy Conservation program, more commonly known as the H.B. 264 program. The three districts expect to see a total of $144,000 in annual savings through the planned improvements.

“The H.B. 264 program makes it possible for Ohio schools districts to take on projects that reduce their energy consumption,” said OSFC Executive Director Richard C. Hickman. “The savings generated will allow these three districts to upgrade their facilities and become more energy efficient. Furthermore, the energy savings will cover the cost of the financing used to fund the projects."

The Bethel Local School District (Miami County) project includes upgrades to lighting, building automation controls, and the heating and cooling system along with the installation of a solar water heater. The district projects $58,411 in annual energy savings.

The Covington Exempted Village School District (Miami County)project includes lighting and building automation control upgrades, along with other energy saving work. The district projects $42,832 in annual energy savings.

The Van Wert City School District (Van Wert County) project includes lighting and building automation upgrades in two buildings. The district projects $42,228 in annual energy savings.

About OFCC

Established in 1997, the Commission is responsible for administration of the state’s school construction and renovation program. The Commission is currently working with, or has completed all necessary work in, nearly two-thirds of the state’s 613 school districts.

On September 10, 2012, the Commission was consolidated with the Office of the State Architect to form the Ohio Facilities Construction Commission. The Ohio School Facilities Commission continues to exist as a separate commission within the new agency, focusing on funding Ohio’s comprehensive K-12 school construction program.


Media contact: Rick Savors at 614.466.7746 or