For Immediate Release
May 24, 2012

Three schools approved for energy conservation projects

May 24, 2012 (COLUMBUS) Three Ohio school districts have been approved for participation in a program designed to produce significant energy conservation savings. T

he Ohio School Facilities Commission (OSFC) gave its approval at its May 24, 2012 meeting to projects in the Campbell City (Mahoning County), South Euclid Lyndhurst City (Cuyahoga County), and Bloom Carroll Local (Fairfield County) school districts. The projects will be completed under the Commission’s Energy Conservation program, more commonly known as the H.B. 264 program. The three districts expect to see over $210,000 in annual savings through the planned improvements.

“Reducing energy costs and consumption is a major goal for school districts,” said OSFC Executive Director Richard M. Hickman. “The $210,000 in annual savings generated through the HB 264 program will allow these three districts to upgrade their facilities and become more energy efficient. Furthermore, the energy savings will cover the cost of the financing used to fund the projects."

The Campbell City project will involve upgrades to lighting and building controls, along with other energy improvements in two buildings. The district estimates $76,884 in annual energy and operational savings.

The South Euclid Lyndhurst City project will include lighting upgrades to eight buildings, along with other improvements. The district estimates $73,800 in annual energy and operational savings.

The Bloom Carroll Local project will involve upgrades to lighting and building controls in three buildings, along with boiler replacements. The district projects $50, 926 in annual savings.

About OFCC

Established in 1997, the Commission is responsible for administration of the state’s school construction and renovation program. The Commission is currently working with, or has completed all necessary work in, nearly two-thirds of the state’s 613 school districts.

On September 10, 2012, the Commission was consolidated with the Office of the State Architect to form the Ohio Facilities Construction Commission. The Ohio School Facilities Commission continues to exist as a separate commission within the new agency, focusing on funding Ohio’s comprehensive K-12 school construction program.


Media contact: Rick Savors at 614.466.7746 or