Green Schools


The Commission's Green Schools program has been in existence since September 2007, when the Commission adopted LEED for Schools® as the standard for K-12 school projects.

The LEED for Schools Rating System is a comprehensive tool that looks at design and construction practices including classroom acoustics, indoor air quality, selection of building materials and energy efficiency. The system is based on prerequisites and credits that address seven areas: sustainable sites, water efficiency, energy and atmosphere, materials and resources, indoor environmental quality, innovation in design and regional priority.

Once design and construction for a building are complete, its systems have been tested, and it has met LEED standards, a project is eligible for one of four levels of recognition based on the number of credits obtained: Certified, Silver, Gold or Platinum.

Important information about LEED Version 4: Read Now

Ohio LEED Certification Recognition Current Totals

Updated November 25, 2018


Recognition Level Number
Certified 6
Silver 233
Gold 101
Platinum 3
Total Certifications 343

Recent News:

Governor Kasich Recognizes Commission as the World Leader in Environmentally-Friendly School Buildings
Commission Recognized for Environmentally-Friendly Construction Work
Registration Fee Adjustment
LEED Version 4 Beginning
Sept/Oct 2015
Head of the Class - Ohio Featured in USGBC+
Ohio Reaches Milestone: 200th LEED School Certified